Travel group and Sun Hua, Zhang Hong at Edgar Snow memorial in China


The Edgar Snow Memorial Foundation is operated by a volunteer board of directors as a registered nonprofit support organization of the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Board Leadership

Nancy Hill, President
Executive Director
Diastole Scholars’ Center

James McKusick, Ph.D., President-Elect
Dean of the Honors College
University of Missouri-Kansas City

Jan Armstrong, Vice-President
Community Volunteer

John Phillips, J.D., Vice-President
Partner, Mediator
Husch Blackwell

Tammy Wang, M.B.A., Vice-President
Vice President
Starr Strategic Partners

Joan Pu, M.P.A., Treasurer
Senior Auditor
City of Kansas City, Missouri

Natalie Gilkison Brooks, J.D., Secretary
Global Program Coordinator
UMKC International Academic Programs


Jana Boschert
Director of Advancement
UMKC School of Pharmacy

Teresa Chien
Director of Culture
The Society for Friendship with China

Joyce L. Dutcher
Writer, Community Volunteer

John James Kennedy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
University of Kansas

Zhuang Li
Physician, Traditional Chinese Medicine

Zhou Long, D.M.A.
Composer, Distinguished Professor of Music
UMKC Conservatory of Music and Dance

Kevin Truman, Ph.D., F.ASCE
Dean, School of Computing and Engineering
Vice Provost for International Affairs
University of Missouri–Kansas City

Larson Powell, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Communication Studies
University of Missouri–Kansas City

Lei (Forest) Rong, P.E., P.Eng. 
Vice President, Power Delivery
Kiewit Engineering Group Inc.

Ruija Wang (Ray)
Engineer, Project Manager
Harcross Chemicals – Shanghai

Sidne Ward, M.B.A., Ph.D.
Chair of the Department of Management
UMKC Henry W. Bloch School of Management

Ex-Officio Members

Mauli Agrawal, Ph.D.
University of Missouri–Kansas City

Bonnie Postlethwaite
Dean of Libraries
University of Missouri–Kansas City

Honorary Members

John Huang (黄峥)
Beijing, China

Liu Xiaofeng (Rocky) 刘晓峰
Director of English Department
College of Foreign Languages, Civil Aviation University of China
Tianjin, China

Colin Mackenzie
Curator of Chinese Art
Art Institute of Chicago

Shu Zhang
Translator and diplomat
Beijing, China

Nancy K. Wilson
Artist and citizen diplomat
Henderson, Nevada